Sri Lanka win toss, decide to bat in second Test against Proteas


Sri Lanka win toss, decide to bat in second Test against Proteas

By Stuart Hess Time of article published 46m ago

Share this article:


JOHANNESBURG – Sri Lank chose to bat after winning the toss in the second Test against the Proteas at the Wanderers on Sunday.

The tourists, battered by injuries, made four changes to the starting team that played the first Test, with seam bowler Asitha Fernando and middle order batsman, Minod Bhanuka making their debuts.

Bhanuka, 25, who boasts a highest first class score of 342, replaces Dhanajaya de Silva, who tore his left thigh muscle in Centurion, while Fernando, 23, replaces Lahiru Kumara.

Dushmantha Chameera replaced Kasun Rajitha, while Lahiru Thirimanne came in for the injured Dinesh Chandimal.

South Africa went into the game unchanged from the first Test. Victory would ensure the Proteas of their first Test series win two years.

A New Year Test with a difference this year… Welcome to the #Bullring! #SAvSL @IOLsport @SPORTATSABC #sscricket

— Zaahier Adams (@ZaahierAdams) January 3, 2021


South Africa: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock (capt), Temba Bavuma, Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Lutho Sipamla, Lungi Ngidi.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga,Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera.


Original Article